2020 College Writing Competition – Winners

Well done to all students who took part in the College Writing Competition. The winning pieces (1st placed only) will be published in the ‘Shared Stories’ Anthology and each of the winners and their families will be invited to attend the online launch of this anthology.

To read these wonderful winning pieces, please click here.

We encourage all of our writers to keep writing – every piece we read showed real promise! Thank you to all for your participation in the competition!

Year 7

Stanley Toklis and

Zander Downie

‘Thank You Pappou’

‘Sophia – our special little angel’

2nd Noah Mendez ‘Respect’
3rd Julian Pruscino ‘Respect and why it is important’
Year 8
1st Phil Deane ‘The Lap’
2nd Albert Yip ‘Shining Light’
3rd Lukas Mallios ‘Respectfully Yours’
Year 9

Lewis Cameron

Kaspar Nickel



2nd Joseph Li-Sculli Untitled
3rd Liam Watts Untitled
Year 10
1st Evan O’Connor ‘Memories Under a Drop Sheet’
2nd Ben Smith ‘Respect’

Jack Mow

Harry Begley

‘Seeing Red’


With our sincere thanks to:

  • Our amazing Year 7-10 English teachers for all of their work with these students, the seen and unseen;
  • Our brilliant Library team for the time and effort they put into the project;
  • The exceptional Mr James Smith for organising and compiling the finalists from each class for reading;
  • Our incredible judges: Ms Jess Van De Garde, Mr Jeremy Freeman, Ms Tanya Vandervelde, Mr Russell Melenhorst, Ms Julia Lai, Mr James Smith, Ms Claire Benne, Mr Henrich Galam, Ms Anne Maree Wight and Ms Libby Oxley

We look forward to celebrating the achievements of these students at a morning tea celebration at a later date to be confirmed. Students will receive their prizes and certificates at this morning tea.


Mr Andrew Wight

Learning Leader of English, on behalf of the English Learning Area